Army Recruiters at City Honors

Leave a comment

September 15, 2016 by cathygon

Here at City Honors, we had a couple of Army Recruiters that talked about different advantages that they can offer.

One of the sergeants that came to visit City Honors was Sergeant Solis. He joined the U.S. Army at the age of 20, and has been in the army for 5 ½ years. His occupation in the Army is 11B infantry. In addition, we also had visit with Sergeant Rector. He currently is in the Army and had attended East LA College and transferred to Grand Canyon University as of now.

Different Programs offered at the Army Base

The Montgomery G.I Bill

The Montgomery G.I. Bill offers an educational benefit which can be worth over $64000.

20160907_093418

Sgt. Rector left and Sgt. Solis right (Danielle Childress / The Daily Jaguar)

You may qualify if you contribute $100 per month for the first 12 months you serve.
Post 9/11 G.I. Bill

This is when you have 90 days of active duty after September 10. The Post 9/11 G.I. Bill is a 36 month term, but is 15 years until expiration. Your living expenses are equivalent to basic housing allowance with dependents (depending on the area). Ex. LA: $2475

Questions asked

1. What’s the most rewarding thing about your job?

“Independence. I’m in charge of myself, I do my job.” – Sargeant Rector

2. So what are you doing as of right now ?

“I’m a recruiter, I am going to schools and I am talking about education. I was asked to be a recruiter, I said yes and I will be doing this for the next three months.” – Sergeant Solis

3. How many more years until you retire?

“4 years. But I’ve been serving for 27 years.” – Sargeant Rector

4. What degree or profession are you planning to become?

“A police officer, I have my associates degree, and I’m working on my bachelors. I want to go into anything that does with law enforcement.” – Sargeant Solis

5. How many branches of army is there?

“There are five; U.S. Army, Air Force, Coast Guard, Marines and Navy.” -Sergeant Solis

Cathy Gonzalez , September 7,2016

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

Archived Articles

Contact Us

Email: city.honors.news@gmail.com

Countdown to Graduation Day!

Graduation DayJune 7th, 2017
The big day is here. Happy graduation, Jaguars!
