“Lifeless” by Kalis Collman

Leave a comment

February 9, 2017 by cityhonorsnews

“In other news, people in Denver, Colorado are getting infected by an unknown virus. It is causing symptoms of fever, sleepwalking, nausea, headaches, pale skin color and slurred speech. We are putting them in quarantine and taking blood samples so scientist can better understand and find ways to cure this virus. Later on ABC news…”

“Aliya Sonia Natalie Brown!” my mom called. She only yelled my full name when she was really mad. “Yes?” I yelled. “Come here, now!” she said.

I immediately started thinking of anything I could have done to make her this mad. I couldn’t remember. She said, “What were you doing right now?”

“I was eating breakfast.” I replied.

“Hurry up, you can’t be late for school anymore.”

“I don’t like how strict my school is, but you make me go there.” I said with a little anger in my voice. “We always have to wear that stupid uniform. We can’t be tardy for more than three times”

“Which you shouldn’t,” she interrupted.

“And, we can’t have more than two absences,” I continued.

“This is a very good school, and you know that” she said.

“But,” I interrupted. “This is not a discussion, now go get dressed, and hurry up.” she said.

We got in the car, and my mom drove so fast I got whip lash on the way to school. “Mom, I left my jacket.”, I said irritably. “You’ll be fine; it’s California,” she said sarcastically, “How cold could it get?” Then, she pushed me out the car and told me “Have a nice day, sweetie.”

And, I guess I didn’t notice that I was staring where her car had shortly stopped to kick me out when Dashyah, my best friend, asked, “Why you look so dumbstruck?”

“No I don’t.” I said  with no conviction at all.

“What happened to you yesterday? You looked all pale.” she said.

“I had a bad headache,  and I didn’t feel good, so I went home.” I said.

She said, “I hope you didn’t get that sickness that’s going around. They think it’s very serious. The people on the news said it could be caused by polluted water!”

“No,” I rebutted, “I got it from you!”

“I was not sick,” she argued, “some crazy man bit me on the bus; that’s it.”

“But, you were coughing a lot.”

“Yea, but that doesn’t mean I was sick.”

“Dashyah!” Dillan called. “Coming!” she yelled. “ I gotta go see what he want, I’ll see you later, bye best friend!” She said. “Bye best friend!” I yelled.

I’m used to her leaving me like that. She was known all around our uncommonly small school. I walked to my class through the dry, boring halls and finally I sat in Mr. Coffee’s class, and listened to his lecture. I was so thirsty because I left my juice at home, but I knew if I told my mom she wouldn’t have turned around anyway. Mr. Coffee conveniently always had a case of water in his cabinet. So, when he wasn’t looking, I took one. When I drank, it tasted nasty. So, I looked at the label, it was Dasani water, but when I examined it more, I noticed that the water was a little cloudy.

After the next two classes, I walked home. “Breaking news, scientist should to be able to find a cure for the virus that is going around. If you see an infected person, call authorities.The victims of this new virus are experiencing paleness, and sleepwalking. We believe it’s contracted through contact with bodily fluids such as saliva, tears and blood. We also believe people mostly contract the virus through polluted water. Next on ABC News…”

“Mom what are you watching?”, I said. “You better be careful, and stay away from kids that might look sickly.” she said. “Okay.” I replied.

I woke up, and I realized it was Tuesday, meaning I had to walk to school. I got dressed quickly and started walking. On my way, I saw this old man who was eating a live pigeon, and when he looked up at me, streams of blood ran down from his eyes. So, I walked even faster hoping he wouldn’t follow me.

I looked at my phone and realized that I was just in time for class. I went to my seat, and for two hours I listened to the most boring teacher lecture. Then, my head started to hurt, so I took a nap. When I woke up, I was in next period, not knowing how I got there, strangely I couldn’t help but falling asleep again. This time when I woke up, it was three o’clock, meaning school was out. Feeling very dazed, I started walking home when Dashyah called “Best friend, I had no idea you liked Chas.”

“What?” I interrupted.

“You should have told me, you know I would have hooked y’all up long ago.” she continued, “Oh my gosh, you guys are so cute together! Next time tell me. I know you remember when Shyla and Eli were so nervous around each other, then I told Shyla he wanted to go out with her, and long story short just make sure before you do something like that again let me know. Okay?”

”What are you talking about?” I said impatiently.

”You forgot already! Come on now, remember you asked him out and he said yes!” she said excitedly. “I never did that.” I said.

“Stop playing, don’t be shy about it, own it, it was the cutest thing ever! Okay? Now I gotta go do my homework see you tomorrow, bye best.” She hung up before I got the chance to say bye.

I’ve always liked Chas, but I would never ask him out because he doesn’t like me. At least, I thought so. He would always hug me really tight, put his arm around me, and occasionally put his hand on my waist. But, he did that to other girls, too.

When I got home, the first thing my mom said was “Is anyone at your school sick?” “No” I said.

“Well, Dashyah was sick last week, but she is okay now.” I continued. “Don’t hang out with her anymore.The news said that the disease is deadly and you can get it by sharing drinks.” she said. There have been many times where she has drunk of my water bottle or I’ve eaten off her, but not while she was sick. Or, I didn’t think so.

The next day, I was at school when Chas came, kissed me on the cheek, and said “I’ve missed you.” in a voice that was deeper than normal. It made me laugh, but I wished he would not have done that while all my friends were around because they all said “Awww, y’all cute,” like we were a couple, but I guess we were.

Out of nowhere we heard this loud slap. So, we looked around and saw this lifeless, pale woman face down on the floor. She was climbing the fence to our school and fell off the top of the gate, but when she fell the gate must have caught her eye. She stood up slowly, her broken jaw was being solely supported by her skin. There was a huge gap in her head where chunks of her brain were dripping slowly off her head. On the floor were about five bloody teeth, which I assumed were hers. She had an extremely slow limp which prohibited her from running. We all looked in shock.

And, as soon as she started walking Dillan started laughing and said “Are y’all really scared of this girl, I’m finna go over there and talk to her, I’ll be back.” He walked over to her and said, “See you don’t scare me. I’m black. I know not to believe in fake shit like they do.”

She didn’t answer but stood there looking blank. She took her finger and wiped a dripping brain chuck off her cheek and licked it. He said, “Stop playin’, I already told you that don’t scare me.” She still didn’t say anything. So, he got closer, and at this point, everyone was scared and quiet.

He shouted “Can you hear me?!” while waving his hands in her face when she grabbed his arm strongly and swiftly. Then, she slowly took her teeth and peeled his skin back like ripping the skin off chicken. The skin fell to the floor just like one of her brain pieces. Admiring her work through his screaming, she happily put her nose first then mouth into his bloody hand and ate.

We started screaming, but while my friends were exclusively focused on her, I looked around to see there were about twenty of them trying to climb the gate. So, I grabbed Dashyah’s arm tightly and we ran. We ran to the front of the school towards the parking lot. I knew she knew how to hot wire a car, but I didn’t know how long it would take. Luckily, there was a teacher getting out of his car, so we threw him out the way. Since she was older than me, she took the wheel. Her driving reminded me of my whiplash, but she was fifteen years old. We swerved around all the cars. I saw many just like the one that ate Dillan. The first thing that came to my mind was to call my mom. When I called her, she didn’t answer. I called, and called, and called, but she never answered. I left a message telling her who I was with and that we were going to her house because her parents have guns. She never met me there.

Later that night, we were all having dinner when Dashyah said she was so happy to see her family alive and well. She started crying, but her tears turned into blood. She was sitting next to me so I pulled her outside and I said “Did you get bit anytime today?”

But, she wasn’t listening. She was pacing back and forth giving me a death stare, then she started staring at my neck. So, I called her dad and told him to bring his gun. Right after, she jumped on me trying to bite my neck, so I pushed her off. Then, she started circling around me.I started to cry I felt like my best friend turned on me. As she kept circling and got back to staring at my face, she jumped and ripped off a chunk of meat on my shoulder. She took my skin, sat down, and ate it. Her dad heard my screams and came running with the gun. When he saw her sitting and eating peacefully, he started to cry, and he shot her. He went back inside crying to tell his wife. While I stayed outside looking at her dead body.

Looking at her splatter of blood on me. Looking at my arm, my bare naked arm. I laid there beside her, crying silently.

I remember that day like it was yesterday. It may have been. I’m not able to keep track of the days anymore. I wish I was human again, but there is no cure for what I have.

I am lifeless!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 49 other followers

Archived Articles

Contact Us

Email: city.honors.news@gmail.com

Countdown to Graduation Day!

Graduation DayJune 7th, 2017
The big day is here. Happy graduation, Jaguars!
